Rotary Districts and Clubs of NSW
2020 NSW Inspirational Women’s Awards
What are the Inspirational Women’s Awards?
The NSW  Inspirational Women’s’ Awards (RIWA) were established to recognise and celebrate women across all communities in NSW who give outstanding service to their own community and to other communities around the world. The Awards are an initiative of the Rotary Districts and Clubs of NSW. The Awards being presented today cover several different categories. They acknowledge the time and effort that these diverse and inspiring women give to the community over and above their professional and/or volunteer role.
They exemplify Rotary’s motto of Service Above Self.
Vice-Regal Patron, Her Excellency, The Hon. Margaret Beazley AO QC, Governor of NSW announced today the call for nominations for the NSW Inspirational Women’s Awards 2020 – RIWA.
While individual organisations have specific internal awards, RIWA recognises service to the community across all sectors in each of the geographical areas of New South Wales. It recognises the NSW general community and is about commitment, dedication, perseverance and proactivity in improving the lives of others.
The NSW Inspirational Women’s Awards is an initiative of the combined efforts of a group of passionate Women Rotarians in the Greater Sydney and Illawarra Clubs. In keeping with Rotary’s motto of ’Service Above Self’, the purpose of the Awards is to acknowledge and celebrate community service performed by women through their vocations, selfless gifts of their skills, their time in various activities and endeavours. The Awards recognise the work done by women, the “quiet achievers”, whose actions inspire others and make a real difference in their communities.
The Awards are open to all women above the age of 18 years of age across NSW and members of the public are encouraged to submit online nominations at
NSW Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor said the Rotary Women’s Awards recognise individuals who have made outstanding contributions to their community.
“These awards are a fantastic way of shining a light on some of the brilliant women who dedicate themselves to making life better for people across NSW every day,” Ms Taylor said.
“It is so important to acknowledge their incredible achievements and to let them know their hard work does not go unnoticed.”
The Awards are divided into three categories – geographically, urban and rural for each.
  1. Young Inspirational Woman of the Year – 18-30 years of age
  2. Inspirational Woman of the Year - 30+ years of age
  3. Inspirational 2020 Health worker – 18-30 years of age and 30+ years of age
  4. A total of 24 finalists will be recognised
Everyone knows at least one woman, irrespective age and vocation, who excels by volunteering quietly, giving of her time to make a real difference to the lives of others.  These women inspire others and are real role models.
A panel of independent judges, from Rotary across NSW, will assess nominees on their community service which best exemplifies Rotary’s motto of Service Above Self, achievements and personal attributes.
Nominations close on 23 September 2020 and finalists will be announced on 7 October 2020. The winners will be announced at an Awards ceremony to be held in Sydney on 15 November 2020.
Rotary brings together a global network of volunteer leaders dedicated to tackling the world’s most pressing humanitarian challenges. Rotary connects 1.2 million members of more than 35,000 Rotary clubs in over 200 countries and geographical areas. Their work improves lives at both the local and international levels, from helping those in need in their own communities to working toward a polio-free world.
Enquiries can be made to:
RIWA Chair:  Rae-Anne Medforth
Phone: 0411 054 119
2019 winners:
  • Hannah Beder winner Urban Rotary Inspirational Young Women’s Awards
  • Eleanor Drury, winner Rotary Inspirational Young Woman of the Year 2019
  • Harinda Kaur – winner Rotary Inspirational Women’s Award 2019
  • Pia Winberg, winner Rural Rotary Inspirational Women’s Awards